Date format settings

Hey there,
I’m new to HaxeUI and try to prototype some of my work-project frontends with it (html5 backend). Really like it so far!
One problem I have is the documentation of certain features. There are some (empty) guides (Guides - HaxeUI API Docs) and of course much looking into examples. Or am I missing something?

The main question I have is about locale settings and especially date formats. I’m using the dropdown component as date picker and the date format is “03/10/2023”. I need the german format “03.10.2023” to display. I managed it with Formats.dateFormatShort = "%d.%m.%Y"; after diving into the source code.
Is there a place where this is documented (or I could do a pull request to document that)?
Is this the intended way of doing it?

Thanks in advance and thanks for this amazing library!
Max

Hi :slight_smile:

One problem I have is the documentation of certain features.

Docs are certainly the weakest point, apart from the unfinished guides there are certain things (like the locale system) that isnt even started :confused:

The main question I have is about locale settings and especially date formats. I’m using the dropdown component as date picker and the date format is “03/10/2023”. I need the german format “03.10.2023” to display. I managed it with Formats.dateFormatShort = "%d.%m.%Y"; after diving into the source code.

So that dateFormatShort is one way, another should be using the inbuilt locales: haxeui-core/haxe/ui/_module/locale at master · haxeui/haxeui-core · GitHub

It sounds like the format for german is wrong? Is %d.%m.%Y more correct? Maybe that would be the simplest solution here.

Cheers,
Ian

PS: documentation PRS are always more than welcome. :wink:

Thanks for your fast reply!

Now I understand! I wasn’t aware that this is the default format. Living in germany for decades and after googling a bit I can tell you that %d.%m.%Y is the common way of writing dates (also see The Date in German).